We are open! For operations and delivery updates due to COVID-19. (click here)
0

Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Description - Last of the Bonegilla Girls by Victoria Purman

For readers of The Woolgrower's Companion and The Three Miss AllensaEURO| Their friendship transcends nationality and background, but can it overcome the horrors of the past? A post-Second World War story of strong female ties and family, secrets and lies, set in the multicultural Australia of the fifties. Can the Bonegilla girls defeat their past? Or will it come to claim them? 1954: When sixteen-year-old Hungarian Elizabeta arrives in Australia with her family, she is hoping to escape the hopelessness of life as a refugee in post-war Germany. Her first stop is the Bonegilla Migrant Camp on the banks of the Murray in rural Victoria, a temporary home for thousands of new arrivals, all looking for work and a better life. There Elizabeta becomes firm friends with the feisty Greek Vasiliki; quiet Italian Iliana; and the adventurous Frances, the daughter of the camp's director. In this vibrant and growing country, the Bonegilla girls rush together towards a life that seems full of promise, even as they cope with the legacy of war, the oppressive nature of family tradition and ever-present sorrow. So when a ghost from the past reaches out for Elizabeta and threatens to pull her back into the shadows, there is nothing that her friends wouldn't do to keep her safe. But secrets have a way of making themselves known and lies have a way of changing everything they touch...

Buy Last of the Bonegilla Girls by Victoria Purman from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9781525290244
Format: Paperback / softback
(240mm x 155mm x mm)
Pages: 504
Imprint: ReadHowYouWant
Publisher: ReadHowYouWant
Publish Date: 23-Jul-2018
Country of Publication: Canada

Book Reviews - Last of the Bonegilla Girls by Victoria Purman

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Last of the Bonegilla Girls book by Victoria Purman and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)


A Preview for this title is currently not available.