0

Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Description - A Pocketful of Eyes by Lili Wilkinson

A smart, funny, page-turning contemporary crime fiction for teens in the tradition of Trixie Belden, Nancy Drew, Agatha Christie - and Veronica Mars.

Buy A Pocketful of Eyes by Lili Wilkinson from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9781459620247
ISBN-10: 1459620240
Format: Paperback / softback
(240mm x 155mm x mm)
Pages: 320
Imprint: ReadHowYouWant
Publisher: ReadHowYouWant
Publish Date: 16-May-2011
Country of Publication: Canada

Other Editions - A Pocketful of Eyes by Lili Wilkinson

Book Reviews - A Pocketful of Eyes by Lili Wilkinson

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Pocketful of Eyes book by Lili Wilkinson and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Book Review: Pocketful of Eyes by Lili Wilkinson - Reviewed by (13 May 2012)

When I began reading A Pocketful of Eyes, I couldn’t even name one mystery novel that I’ve read in my entire life, nor did I know who Trixie Beldon was, or what taxidermy meant. But, needless to say, I did enjoy this book very much.

The first thing I loved was the quirky narration. Even though A Pocketful of Eyes is written in third person, Bee’s voice still breaks though the barrier that a lot of characters are usually left hiding behind. Bee is one peculiar girl. I can’t tell you how much I loved her without telling you how much I loved Toby, too. While Bee is working at the museum over the Christmas holidays, Toby is working to gain extra credit after failing his uni course. He was nice, a little grumpy, but still quite nice and always has something bizarre to add to the conversation.

Together Bee and Toby try to collect clues and attempt to figure out whether Gus really did kill himself. Their relationship was so adorably frustrating. Although definitely in a good way. (And they have a handful of brilliant kissing scenes!) But seriously, story-wise, the two characters worked so well together.

I feel like I need to make a special note of mentioning Angela and The Celestial Badger. They really upped the awesome. I kind of wish my mother played World of Warcraft.

The mystery aspect was done brilliantly. At one point I suspected everyone for some reason or another (yes even the pregnant women in the Conservation offices). I was forever looking for clues, which had been so perfectly placed into the story. The twist at the end got me completely. I actually had to read a few pages twice because I didn’t get it the first time. I thought I had it all figured and then bam! Wrong! My theories weren’t even close to the truth.

A Pocketful of Eyes is so wonderfully clever, and so much fun.


A Preview for this title is currently not available.