We are open! For operations and delivery updates due to COVID-19. (click here)
0

Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Description - Population Wars by Greg Graffin

Life on Earth has been defined by war from the beginning, with war between populations seen as an inevitable part of the evolutionary process. The popular understanding of 'the survival of the fittest' explains and often excuses these actions.

In Population Wars, Greg Graffin argues that this use of evolutionary theory is wrong, and that mistake has allowed us to justify wars even when other, less violent solutions may be available. Through tales of mass extinctions, developing immune systems, human warfare, the American industrial heartland, and our degrading modern environment, Graffin demonstrates how an over-simplified idea of war, with its victorious winners and vanquished losers, prevents us from responding to the real problems we face.

For readers of Richard Dawkins, Jared Diamond, and E.O. Wilson, Population Wars is a paradigm-shifting book about why humans behave the way they do and the science that explains their behaviour.

Buy Population Wars by Greg Graffin from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9781250105301
ISBN-10: 1250105307
Format: Paperback / softback
(229mm x 148mm x 22mm)
Pages: 320
Imprint: St Martin's Press
Publisher: St Martin's Press
Publish Date: 8-Nov-2016
Country of Publication: United States

Book Reviews - Population Wars by Greg Graffin

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Population Wars book by Greg Graffin and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)


Author Biography - Greg Graffin

Greg Graffin is the lead singer and a songwriter in Bad Religion. He obtained his PhD in zoology at Cornell University, and has lectured at UCLA and Cornell. He is the coauthor of Anarchy Evolution, with Steve Olson. He travels regularly between the cities he considers home, Ithaca, New York, and Los Angeles, California.

A Preview for this title is currently not available.