We are open! For operations and delivery updates due to COVID-19. (click here)

Call Boomerang Books 1300 36 33 32

Description - The Sleeper Awakes by H. G. Wells

The Sleeper Awakes is H. G. Wells's wildly imaginative story of London in the twenty-second century and the man who by accident becomes owner and master of the world. In 1897 a Victorian gentleman falls into a sleep from which he cannot be waked. During his two centuries of slumber he becomes the Sleeper, the most well known and powerful person in the world. All property is bequeathed to the Sleeper to be administered by a Council on his behalf. The common people, increasingly oppressed, view the Sleeper as a mythical liberator whose awakening will free them from misery.

The Sleeper awakes in 2100 to a futuristic London adorned with wondrous technological trappings yet staggering under social injustice and escalating unrest. His awakening sends shock waves throughout London, from the highest meetings of the Council to the workers laboring in factories in the bowels of the city. Daring rescues and villainous treachery abound as workers and capitalists fight desperately for control of the Sleeper.

Buy The Sleeper Awakes by H. G. Wells from Australia's Online Independent Bookstore, Boomerang Books.

Book Details

ISBN: 9780803298187
ISBN-10: 0803298188
Format: Paperback / softback
(178mm x 127mm x mm)
Pages: 300
Imprint: Bison Books
Publisher: University of Nebraska Press
Publish Date: 1-Sep-2000
Country of Publication: United States

Book Reviews - The Sleeper Awakes by H. G. Wells

» Have you read this book? We'd like to know what you think about it - write a review about Sleeper Awakes book by H. G. Wells and you'll earn 50c in Boomerang Bucks loyalty dollars (you must be a Boomerang Books Account Holder - it's free to sign up and there are great benefits!)

Author Biography - H. G. Wells

H. G. Wells (1866-1946) is one of the most influential figures in the history of science fiction. This commemorative edition of The Sleeper Awakes features Wells's preferred revision of the novel-published in 1910 and never before widely available in the United States-and his prefaces to the 1910 and 1921 editions. Introducer J. Gregory Keyes is the author of the acclaimed series Chosen of the Changeling and Age of Unreason. Gareth Davies-Morris has contributed a new afterword. He teaches in the Department of English and Comparative Literature at San Diego State University.

A Preview for this title is currently not available.